Converting exract to partial mash?

Sun May 01, 2011 7:40 pm

Disclaimer: I'm new to both brewing & forum posting - if I need to look on other threads, please just point it out.

That being said, I'm ready to go to partial mash, but have a couple extract recipes that I really like. How should I go about converting the recipes toward partial mash? I've found formulas that allow for conversion from ectract to all grain, but I haven't had any luck converting to mini-mash.

Any help here would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Last edited by Fierce Beard on Mon May 02, 2011 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fierce Beard

Re: Converting exract to partial mash?

Mon May 02, 2011 9:19 am

There are fairly complete instructions on John Palmer's website www.howtobrew.com . Basicaly, you need to take exchange part of the "base" extract you would use and replace it with an appropriate base malt, such as 2 row or pale ale. (Make sure your local homebrew shop mills the grain for you, many people have forgoton this step when starting out.) To make it easier to figure out how much grain to exchange for extract, I use brewing software (I'm partial to ProMash), inputing my original recipe to calculate my starting gravity. Then, I remove an appropriate amount of extract from the recipe and add in enough base malt until I return to my original starting gravity.

John's website has very detailed instructions, with pictures, on how to partial mash. I would very strongly urge you to buy a copy of the book if you havn't already. He has "taught" many of us how to get started on the road to all-grain.

Hope this helps,
Alan
alan_marks

Mon May 02, 2011 11:05 am

Wow, thanks Alan

I'm amazed at how quickly information is exchanged on this forum. I'm picking up tips and tricks everyday! The shop where I buy my brewing supplies is half computer/gadget/RC car shop, and the guys that run it don't seem to really know much about the products they're selling. You guys on the forum are life savers!