Smoker Recommendations

Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:43 am

"In spring a young man's fancy turns to thoughts of..."

SMOKIN' MEAT!!

I've never done any smoking before and would like input on a good smoker for the beginner. (i.e. something that doesn't cost the same as my mortgage payment ). I know Weber makes a couple, and I love my Weber grill.

I'm going to have to go back and listen to Homer's shows...everytime I listen to them, my stomach growls.

Sergeant, BN Army
R.I.P. Rat Pad ('05-'12)

Fermenter: Mayotoberfest
Kegged: Common, Cherry, & Apple Pie Ciders, Falconer Pale Ale, Strawberry Blonde
On Deck: German Pilsner, Chinookee Wookiee
TheDarkSide
Global Moderator

Re: Smoker Recommendations

Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:52 am

If you've already got a Weber kettle, It can easily be set up to smoke. Set up properly, mine can hold 225F for more than 8 hours till I have to add more charcoal. Unless you plan on doing lots of smoking, I don't think you need a separate smoker. Give me a few minutes to work on some pictures for you.
"If God had intended us to drink beer, He would have given us stomachs."
Elbone

Tue Mar 16, 2010 6:56 am

I'm a beginner smoker myself. I have a propane GOSM.

Experienced smokers may scoff at propane, but it's simple and I feel it's easy to maintain temps. Especially with one of these:

When I was researching it before I got a smoker, it seemed like fussing with the coals would be annoying. YMMV.
Me: I'm gonna drink a Boon Geuze.
SWMBO: You're a booze goon.
PhillyBrewer

Tue Mar 16, 2010 7:06 am

Elbone wrote:If you've already got a Weber kettle, It can easily be set up to smoke. Set up properly, mine can hold 225F for more than 8 hours till I have to add more charcoal. Unless you plan on doing lots of smoking, I don't think you need a separate smoker. Give me a few minutes to work on some pictures for you.

My Weber grill is propane fired.
Sergeant, BN Army
R.I.P. Rat Pad ('05-'12)

Fermenter: Mayotoberfest