Hops popping already!!

Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:44 pm

Its only march and the hops that Ive been growing for a few years have never popped up this early in Michigan. Today I weeded and fertilized and did terellis maintainance. Can't wait to see what kind of a production this year brings.
Blunt
On tap: Centennial IPA
Bottled: Bock III
Secondary: Pale Ale
Primary:
Because I am German. I can’t help it. I am biologically incapable of NOT brewing.”
Blunt

Re: Hops popping already!!

Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:29 am

Yeah, mine popped several weeks ago too. Not too out of the ordinary for California, but still pretty early. Happening in Michigan too, that's crazy! Are you worried about a late frost doing damage? We still have some cold nights left here, but nothing that's going to hurt the hops (I hope).
I wouldn't use me as an example.
Chemiker

Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:38 pm

We are expecting a cold spell early in April, but I hope it doesn't hurt anything. I have some varieties that are second year and some that are 3rd and 4th years, the second year ones I may give a little more care. Hopefully this early start will also mean an early harvest.
Blunt
On tap: Centennial IPA
Bottled: Bock III
Secondary: Pale Ale
Primary:
Because I am German. I can’t help it. I am biologically incapable of NOT brewing.”
Blunt

Sat Mar 24, 2012 5:04 am

My Centennial I got and put in the ground 6 weeks ago sprouted up last week. The Cascade that I have had in the ground for 2 seasons is showing nothing. Curious. :?
A woman drove me to drink, and I never had the courtesy to thank her-W.C. Fields
scotchpine

Sun Mar 25, 2012 5:14 am

Yup, here in NY too. And they're looking a bit crazy this year too. They're just sprouting up everywhere
Hessian Lake

Sun Mar 25, 2012 5:19 am

All mine are up in S.Illinois...unseasonably warm winter here.
TimmyR

Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:31 am